Approved by the Portal Steering Committee.
The Blackboard system is a secure environment for storing your files. It is backed up every night for purposes of disaster recovery only. It is not intended as a backup for individual user, course or organization content.
It is your responsibilty to make a copy of your content to prevent losing files because of accidental deletion. If you remove files from the Bb Content System, those files are permanently deleted and cannot be restored. Therefore, use caution when removing files from the Blackboard System!
Blackboard Learning System Course and Organization Removal Policy
The current term courses plus the two previous complete academic year courses are retained in the Blackboard System. To provide maximum performance for Bb users, older terms are permanently remove around R+30 of each Fall semester. IT informs instructors of the deletion process via email to the instructor's @unh.edu email address. Grade information from deleted Bb courses is extracted and retained the Registrar's Office.
Organizations will be reviewed each fall, and leaders of organizations that appear to have no activity are contacted regarding removal of the organization via email to the leader's @unh.edu email address. After multiple failed attempts to reach any of the organizations leaders, the organization will be removed along with all organization content.
Blackboard Content Management System Data Removal Policy
Content stored by former UNH students in their personal content area in the Blackboard Content Management System will be deleted during two cleanup sessions in the Fall and Spring semesters. Former students are defined as those who are not registered for the current fall or spring semester at UNH. Former UNH students' content is deleted at Registration plus 35 days in the Fall or Spring semester.
Content stored by former UNH faculty in their personal content area in the Blackboard Content Management System is deleted during a monthly process. Former UNH faculty are defined as those who have terminated their UNH employment.
For faculty, IT provides a 90-day grace period for non-adjunct faculty and a 120-day grace period for adjunct faculty after their contract date to enable faculty to complete their work. Content is removed for faculty after these grace periods.
Content stored by former UNH staff in their personal content area in the Blackboard Content Management System is deleted during a monthly process. Former UNH staff are defined as those who have terminated their UNH employment.